freestate artists parallel programme pratical info
nederlands français  

Vrijstaat O. newsletter!

first name
last name
email
     

Jessica Baxter

   

Jessica Baxter, from Brussels, is not the latest star of Flemish pop music or of institutional criticism. In 'Jessica Baxter Kills The Minutes' she presents her new interpretation of the culture of open-air festivals. You might call it a sort of Land Art without the links with nature, but brilliant and picturesque in all its details. This new work will be able to rely on the participation of a willing and enthusiastic public. Live music, the very latest in the form of ‘art and cooking’ and a huge mural that tells us what’s still to come. Straight out of the New York DIY underground, Jessica Baxter breaks with tradition, knocks holes and creates openings where they are needed… Baxter has previously collaborated with Komplot on projects in Hamburg, Ystadt (Sweden) and Paris.

back to top
 
     

Astrid Bossuyt (°1989)

   

The autonomous actions by this young artist are clearly interwoven with her everyday life. The work itself is a snapshot of part of a process extending over a long period. The work she is doing for Freestate is the sequel to an action in Brussels, when she randomly scattered coleseed, some of which germinated and grew into plants that lived on. As a student, for a year she sabotaged the entry system with identification badges by keeping the doors open wherever possible using wooden wedges, which she later showed in her end-of-year exhibition. As well as showing several new works, she will also infiltrate the Freestate exhibition as an attendant.

back to top
 
     

Delphine Deguislage (°1980)

   

Delphine Deguislage creates illusory spaces that swallow up their visitors so that the body in movement becomes a figure in the image. She evokes a third dimension using coloured planes and explores the relationships between colour and light, as in the work of modern landscape painters. These interactions between colour and form recur in her drawings and sculptures and also in her installations, some of which are made kinetic by their transparency or the movement of the viewer’s eyes. Her fascination with means of transport and, recently, with narrative objects and textures is part of her visual study of perception.

back to top
 
     

Nick Ervinck (°1981)

   

Nick Ervinck’s oeuvre is an endless quest for a new language of form. To start with he looks for interactions between real and virtual worlds. For instance, he designs ‘clean’ forms on the computer and then makes them in real materials. Or else he tries – in the reverse direction – to make a virtual imitation of a very awkward real object. His present work is at the intersection of architecture, design and art. It consists mainly of animation, sculpture, prints and drawings, a sample of which he will show at Freestate. Nick Ervinck has carried out numerous solo projects in Belgium and has taken part in group exhibitions here and abroad. He has recently exhibited at Museum M in Leuven, SMAK, MOCA in Shanghai, Zebrastraat in Ghent, MARTA in Herford, Kunstverein in Ahlen, Superstories in Hasselt, the Brakke Grond in Amsterdam and the Vanhaerents Collection and MAMA in Rotterdam.

back to top
 
     

Patrice Gaillard & Claude (°1974-1975)

   

This duo is fascinated by psychedelia and the eighties, and their work refers as much to sculptural tradition as to electronic music. Their objects are magnified, their forms broken apart and their colours almost acidic. They reveal an approach that one might call anything from chic to hyper-contemporary, with elements of both classical and pop culture. You can distinguish the structures, as you can the material, which changes with the light. The distortion of these objects gives them either a narrative or an abstract impact. Patrice Gaillard & Claude showed their word among others in the Galerie Micheline Swajcer (Antwerp), at the Biennale de Lyon and in the Museum of Fine Arts in Hô Chi Minh city and are represented by Galerie Loevenbruck in Paris.

back to top
 
     

Mekhitar Garabedian (°1977)

   

The oeuvre of Mekhitar Garabedian can only be experienced fragmentarily: each work is an element in a complex and ambiguous whole. His personal story (born in Syria, lives in Ghent) provides a basis from which to bring up a number of universal topics concerning origin, identity and artisthood, among other things. He uses the widest possible range of resources: video, installations, neon, writing, photography, publications, archive items, and so on. In this way his work is an attempt to approach what determines our existence. Mekhitar Garabedian has recently exhibited at, among other places, BE-PART in Waregem and the Hoet-Bekaert Gallery in Ghent. In autumn 2011 he will have an individual exhibition at SMAK in Ghent.

back to top
 
     

Pieter Geenen (°1979)

   

After his photography course at Limburg Catholic College, Pieter Geenen took the Transmedia postgraduate course at St Luke’s in Brussels. His work focuses on seemingly banal but often politically-charged landscapes and spaces. They reject any tendency towards analysis or emotion and slowly take their place in the imagination of anyone who absorbs them. This experience lies in the area of tension between the visual and the auditory, the static and the mobile. The attention becomes more focused, the experience slows; looking and listening become intense, intimate, curious, reflective and almost tangible. His work has been shown at the New York Film Festival and Rencontres Internationales Paris/Berlin/Madrid. Solo exhibitions of his work have recently been held at Strombeek cultural centre and the Annie Gentils Gallery in Antwerp.

back to top
 
     

Filip Gilissen (°1980)

   

For the preview of Freestate he will be engaged in installing 'It’s All Downhill From Here On' from sunset to sunrise. This is a rotating, flickering golden light sculpture, dangling from a gigantic construction crane. In its turn, this work refers to 'The Only Way Is Up', his performance in the entrance hall of the Fine Arts Museum in Antwerp. This is actually his alter ego – a theatrical character in a glittering golden jacket – who for five hours enthusiastically promotes the fact that from now on it’s downhill all the way. These two works fit perfectly into his purpose of bursting the bubble of success. In 2008 he obtained a Master’s degree in Fine Art at St Luke’s in Brussels. In 2010 he opened the Liverpool Biennale with 'The Winner Takes It All'. His work has recently been shown at the Torrance Art Museum in Los Angeles, the Brakke Grond in Amsterdam, at 211 Elizabeth Street in New York, The Woodmill in London and Neue Brug in Vienna.

back to top
 
     

Kati Heck (°1979)

   

Kati Heck creates monumental compositions in which she combines various motifs, painting styles and storylines. She alternates a manically precise way of painting with quick and impulsive brushstrokes in the true Kippenberger style. The effect is overwhelming and brings us face to face with a comically obscene world charged above all with an absurd visual logic. At Freestate she will be showing a series of three recent paintings. In this bizarre threefold scene, the strange protagonists are a friendly couple of corpulent people and a dead dove.

back to top
 
     

Jimmy Kets (°1979)

   

Jimmy Kets works not only as a press photographer, but also follows his own, individual artistic course. The thread running through his work is ‘the life of Western man’. How does he make ends meet and how does he spend his hard-earned leisure time? Kets’ pictures go beyond pure documentary and become metaphorical. In his photography, he displays a distinct feeling for colour, a sense of detail and a hint of surrealism. Jimmy Kets graduated from the Graphic Design and Illustration Department at St Luke’s in Antwerp in 2001. He then immediately started work as a press photographer on De Morgen, until he moved to De Standaard in 2009. There have been solo exhibitions of his work at the FoMu in Antwerp, the Flanders Centre at Osaka in Japan and at the Brakke Grond in Amsterdam, as well as at the photo festival in Breda.

back to top
 
     

Jasper Rigole (°1981)

   

Jasper Rigole studied in the Film Department at the KASK and then took a postgraduate course at the HISK in Ghent. He founded the ‘International Institute for the Conservation, Archiving and Distribution of Other People’s Memories’ (IICAVAH), which in fact is the umbrella organisation for his artistic practices. The memories from this fictional institute – consisting mainly of found documents from the private sphere – are then used as the basis for his audiovisual projects, which exist in the form of installations, screenings and performances. They are essay-like explorations that comment critically and poetically on contemporary notions of the archive and memory, fiction and document/documentary. His work has been shown at the Brakke Grond in Amsterdam and the SMAK in Ghent, and was recently also given a place at Manifesta 8 in Murcia.

back to top
 
     

Matthieu Ronsse (°1981)

   

In his paintings and exhibitions, Matthieu Ronsse takes his lead from a purely ‘plastic’ intuition. Time and impatience collide in the many images that he positions over, next to and opposite each other, also invisible to each other. Subjects from art history fuse with motifs from earlier work, with visual scraps from the private sphere and from books or architecture or photography. In the interplay between the works you notice constant shifts of subject, composition, brushstroke, colour and quality. This makes each of Matthieu Ronsse’s exhibition projects a surprising new chapter in an oeuvre whose complexity continues to expand. As we shall see at Freestate.

back to top
 
     

Sarah & Charles (°1979 en °1981)

   

The artistic duo Sarah & Charles create worlds which are both recognisable and odd, and are populated by invisible protagonists. Their installations consist of stage sets that evoke dream-like images where reality and fiction meet. The visitor himself also plays a part in these settings and is as it were directed by the set. The interiors display a considerable sense of design and detail, which reveals something about the characters. It is not without reason that one series is called 'Props for Drama'. In 2007 Sarah & Charles were prize-winners at the HISK. Sarah had previously graduated from St Luke’s in Brussels. Their work has been shown at such places as the Brakke Grond in Amsterdam, the Klingental in Basel, De Garage in Mechelen, Lokaal 101 in Breda, Watou and MARTA in Herford. They recently designed the set for the opera 'Blond Eckbert' at the Flanders Opera.

back to top
 
     

Ief Spincemaille (°1976)

   

Ief Spincemaille studied philosophy at the KU Leuven and music and technology at L’aula de Musica in Barcelona. He has worked on numerous stage productions as a set- and sound-designer, among others for Het Toneelhuis and Toneelgroep Amsterdam. Since 2010 he has coordinated the Werktank, a production centre for media art, together with Kurt d’Haeseleer. The border regions between ‘old’ and ‘new’ media, and also between ‘onstage’ and ‘offstage’ provide a natural habitat for his work, which he himself describes as a form of sculpture for the multimedia age. Every possible medium and tool is employed in orchestrated situations and constructed narratives that question and challenge the spectator’s perceptions. His work has recently been shown at the International Film Festival in Rotterdam, at the Verbeke Foundation in Kemzeke and at Almost Cinema in Ghent.

back to top
 
     

Ante Timmermans (°1976)

   

With incredible drive, Ante Timmermans does drawings that record human existence, with an eye for both the tragedy and the humour of the human condition (and of his artisthood). His drawings may be on paper or on the wall, in the form of an animated film, a light projection or three-dimensional. His endless interplay of lines depicts every possible form of human activity and thereby transcends observable reality. In this way his oeuvre becomes the genesis of one huge and inextricable network of lines and meanings. For Freestate, Ante Timmerman is working on an ensemble of new spatial drawings.

back to top
 
     

Dennis Tyfus (°1979)

   

Dennis Tyfus is busily engaged in a number of activities, all of vital importance to him: music, drawing, magazines, posters, LP covers, radio programmes, concerts and performances. In this way his fascination for visual poetry and noise, the Situationists and their radicalism, and the punk scene of the 70s and 80s, all end up in his programme on Radio Centraal. Together with Vaast Colson, he also organises acts and performances at ‘Gunther’, a place somewhere in Antwerp, and for the Ultra Eczema label, which he set up himself, he brings out publications and LPs by artist and musician friends. From all this emerges a coherent set of finely executed drawings, collages and videos with shimmering colours and textures. His work has been shown at Deitch Projects ( New York), Haus de Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), Bozar (Brussels) and the Brakke Grond (Amsterdam). He recently had a notable solo exhibition at Be-Part Waregem.

back to top
 
     

Philippe Van Wolputte (°1982)

   

For Freestate, Philippe Van Wolputte will be creating a new T.P.E.S., the sixth in a series that started in 2005. These ‘Temporary Penetrable Exhibition Spaces’ consist of site-specific interventions in vacant and unused spaces that are often to be found in an urban setting. He will in this instance completely re-clad an abandoned structure in the old part of the harbour in the form of a white cube, around a found interior which is also a work of art. In this way a previously ‘useless’ site is given a temporary function as an imaginary exhibition space. In addition, his fascination for asbest leads him to a new intervention in the warehouse. Philippe Van Wolputte has previously exhibited at the Chert Gallery (Berlin), the Zentrum Paul Klee (Bern), the Mukha (Antwerp), Liste (Basel) and Objectif Exhibitions (Antwerp). He was artist in residence at the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam until 2009.

back to top
 
     

Vadim Vosters (°1979)

   

Vadim Vosters is a painter, photographer and media artist. One of the factors that recurs constantly in his work is the contrast between light and dark, and between seeing and not seeing. Historical and art history references provide the occasion for a more profound reflection on the essence of an image. By integrating new technology he often brings about a form of interaction between viewer and image, and a renewal of the medium of painting. Vosters studied Mixed Media at the Academy in Ghent. He has exhibited at the Ensor Museum (Ostend), in Fantastic Illusions (Kortrijk - Shanghai), and at Performa 2009 (New York).

back to top
 
     

Leon Vranken (°1975)

   

Leon Vranken has among other things studied for the Master’s degree in Autonomous Visual Arts in Breda (2005) and in 2007 he graduated from the Higher Institute of Fine Art (HISK) with solo exhibitions at the Stella Lohaus Gallery and elsewhere. Most of his work is three-dimensional. He uses objects that appear to have been taken out of context, or forms and volumes that may or may not be geometrical. They are shown individually or combined in an installation. But they are not simply found objects. Vranken makes his objects and forms himself, with a marked attention to materials. The perfect finish and tactile nature of his work are of prime importance. His work always has an alienating effect and also displays great craftsmanship. This was made clear in a recent work consisting of twelve pedestals arranged according to the increasing complexity of the woodwork. They call for a new interpretation of the pedestal, somewhere between a functional article and an architectural object.

back to top
 
     

Freek Wambacq (°1978)

   

Freek Wambacq establishes a critical link between the world of art and the world outside it. Brief encounters and idiosyncratic discoveries are the inspiration behind his art. Wambacq’s extensive sculptural vocabulary makes use of found objects and everyday materials to which he gives new life in surprising combinations. The artist collects and arranges objects in an associative manner so as to form aesthetically challenging constructions. Wambacq visits the borders of art and he does so with a subtle and often humorous undertone. This subtlety manifests itself both in the care the artist takes to position and present his sculptures and installations and in the titles he gives them. This year he has already has a solo exhibition at the Museum M in Leuven and a place in the Crossroads group exhibition in Düsseldorf, and he is also one of the winners in the Prix de la Jeune Peinture Belge.

back to top
 
     

Sung-A Yoon (°1977)

   

Sung-A Yoon studied art at L’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy and film-making at INSAS in Brussels. Navigating between the fields of cinema and contemporary art, her films and videos have been shown at numerous international film festivals, including the Cannes Film Festival, as well as art centres (Jeu de Paume, Palais de Tokyo, Le Plateau,...) and events such as the Busan Biennale. At Freestate she will present a new video installation, part of the ongoing project 'Les lieux du son' which explores the relationship between music and public space, focusing, on this occasion, on the notion of labour, as well as 'Adieu je pars et dans mon coeur j’emporterai' and 'Elle peut pas oublier le sentiment toute la vie', a video diptych on displacement, collective memory and the emotional power of sound and language, shot among the Chinese community in Liège.

back to top

freestate artistes programme parallèle info pratique
nederlands english  

Vrijstaat O. newsletter!

prénom
nom
courriel
     

Jessica Baxter

   

Jessica Baxter (Brussels) n’est pas une star de la pop flamande ou de la critique institutionnelle. Avec 'Jessica Baxter Kills The Minutes', elle propose une nouvelle interprétation de la culture estivale en extérieur. Une forme de Land art sans référence à la nature, éclatante et pittoresque dans les finitions. La nouvelle pièce de Jessica Baxter sera accueillie par un public participatif et enthousiaste. Musique en direct, art orienté sur les tendances culinaires les plus contemporaines, peinture murale annonciatrice de grands moments à venir… Issue de la scène underground DIY new-yorkaise, Jessica Baxter rompt avec les traditions, crée des ruptures, ouvre des brèches.

back to top
 
     

Astrid Bossuyt (°1989)

   

Les actions autonomes de cette jeune artiste et sa vie quotidienne s’imbriquent très nettement. L’œuvre en soi est toujours un instantané d’un processus qui s’étend sur une longue période. L’œuvre qu’elle réalise pour Freestate s’inscrit dans le prolongement d’une action accomplie à Bruxelles où elle a semé arbitrairement du colza. Certaines graines ont germé et les pousses ont alors mené une existence autonome. Étudiante, elle sabotait le système d’accès à l’école par badges d’identification en maintenant toutes les portes entrouvertes avec des cales en bois, cales qu’elle exposait lors des jurys de fin d’année. Outre certaines nouvelles œuvres, elle s’infiltrera dans l’exposition en tant que gardienne.

back to top
 
     

Delphine Deguislage (°1980)

   

Delphine Deguislage crée des espaces illusoires dans lesquels le visiteur est projeté de sorte que son corps en mouvement devient un personnage dans l'image. Suggérant une troisième dimension à partir d'aplats de couleur, elle explore les relations entre la couleur et la lumière à la manière des peintres paysagistes modernes. Ces interactions entre la couleur et la forme se retrouvent aussi bien dans les dessins, les sculptures que dans les installations parfois cinétiques par effet de transparence ou de déplacement du regard. Cette recherche plastique sur la perception trouve un écho dans la fascination qu’entretient Delphine Deguislage pour les transports, et plus récemment pour des objets narratifs et des textures. Ses nombreux déplacements contribuent à alimenter ses réflexions sur le défilement de l’image, les perspectives changeantes…

back to top
 
     

Nick Ervinck (°1981)

   

L’œuvre de Nick Ervinck est une quête infinie d’un nouveau langage formel. Au départ, il recherche des interactions entre des mondes réels et virtuels. Il crée des formes 'pures' sur son ordinateur et les traduit ensuite en matériels concrets. Ou bien il tente le contraire: reconstituer de manière virtuelle un objet rigide réel. Son œuvre actuelle se situe à la croisée de l’architecture, du graphisme et de l’art et se compose principalement d’animations, d’impressions et de dessins, dont il expose un échantillon à Freestate. Nick Ervinck a réalisé de multiples projets individuels en Belgique et a participé à de nombreuses expositions de groupe nationales et internationales. Récemment, il a exposé au Museum M. (Louvain), au SMAK (Gand), au MOCA Shanghai, à Zebrastraat (Gand), au MARTA (Herford), au Kunstverein Ahlen, à Superstories (Hasselt), au Brakke Grond (Amsterdam), à la Collection Vanhaerents et au MAMA (Rotterdam).

back to top
 
     

Patrice Gaillard & Claude (°1974-1975)

   

Entre psychédélisme et années 80, le travail de Patrice Gaillard & Claude fait autant référence à la sculpture qu’à la musique électronique. Les objets sont agrandis, les formes difractées, les couleurs presque acidulées soutiennent une approche picturale et conceptuelle chic hyper-contemporaine, imbibée de culture classique et pop. Ils révèlent les structures des objets, leurs matières changeantes à la lumière. Les distorsions et l'abstraction que les objets subissent donnent un nouveau statut à ceux-ci lorqu'ils sont associés de manière narrative ou abstraite. Patrice Gailard & Claude ont entre autre présenté leur travail à la Galerie Micheline Szwajcer(Anvers), à la Biennale de Lyon, au Musée des Beaux-arts d'Hô Chi Minh city et sont représentés par la Galerie Loevenbruck à Paris.

back to top
 
     

Mekhitar Garabedian (°1977)

   

L’œuvre de Mekhitar Garabedian ne peut se vivre que de manière fragmentée: chaque œuvre est un élément d’un ensemble complexe et plurivoque. Sa biographie personnelle lui sert de point de départ pour aborder certains dilemmes universels à propos de l’origine, l’identité et l’être artiste. Pour cela, il fait appel à un large éventail de médias : vidéos, installations, néons, textes, photographies, publications, pièces d’archives… À travers son œuvre, il tente d’approcher ce qui détermine notre existence. Récemment, Mekhitar Garabedian a exposé, entre autres, à BE-PART (Waregem) et à la Hoet-Bekaert Gallery (Gand). À l’automne 2011, le SMAK lui consacre une exposition individuelle.

back to top
 
     

Pieter Geenen (°1979)

   

Après sa formation en photographie à la KHL (Haute École du Limbourg), Pieter Geenen a entamé le troisième cycle Transmedia à Sint-Lukas (Bruxelles). Son œuvre se concentre sur des paysages et des espaces a priori banals, mais prégnants sur le plan politique. Loin de toute inclination pour l’analyse ou l’émotion, ses œuvres se fraient doucement un chemin dans l’imaginaire de celui qui s’en imprègne. Cette expérience se situe sur le champ de tension entre le visuel et l’auditif, le statique et le dynamique. L’attention s’aiguise, l’expérience ralentit ; écouter et regarder devient intense, intime, étrange, réflectif, quasi tangible. Il a exposé, entre autres, au Festival du Film de New York et aux Rencontres internationales Paris/Berlin/Madrid. Récemment, le CC Strombeek a organisé une exposition individuelle de l’artiste, ainsi que l’Annie Gentils Gallery (Anvers).

back to top
 
     

Filip Gilissen (°1980)

   

Pour le vernissage de Freestate, il installe de la tombée de la nuit à l’aube 'It’s All Downhill From Here On': une sculpture de lumière, étincelante et rotative, suspendue à une immense grue de construction. Cette œuvre fait référence à 'The Only Way Is Up', sa performance dans le hall d’entrée néo-classique du Musée royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers: un personnage théâtral, l’alter ego de l’artiste, vêtu d’un veston à paillettes qui, cinq heures durant, scande sans relâche et avec conviction que le déclin a commencé et que dorénavant tout suivra une pente descendante. Les deux œuvres correspondent parfaitement à l’aspiration de Gilissen de percer la bulle du succès et de mettre en lumière sa vacuité. En 2008, Gilissen a obtenu sa maîtrise en Arts libres à Sint-Lukas (Bruxelles). En 2010, il a ouvert la Biennale de Liverpool avec 'The Winner Takes It All'. Récemment, son œuvre a été exposée au Torrance Art Museum (Los Angeles), au Brakke Grond (Amsterdam) à Elisabeth Street (New York), au Woodmill (Londres) et à Neue Brug (Vienne).

back to top
 
     

Kati Heck (°1979)

   

Kati Heck crée des compositions monumentales dans lesquelles elle conjugue différents motifs, styles et lignes narratives. Sa peinture méticuleuse et précise à l’excès alterne avec des coups de pinceau rapides et impulsifs qui rappellent Kippenberger. L’effet est stupéfiant et nous place face à un monde comique et obscène, dont se dégage surtout une logique visuelle absurde. À l’occasion de Freestate, Kati Heck présente une série de toiles récentes. Dans cette triple scène étrange, les protagonistes insolites de service se composent d’un couple sympathique et corpulent et d’un pigeon mort.

back to top
 
     

Jimmy Kets (°1979)

   

Outre sa profession de photographe de presse, Jimmy Kets se consacre également à une pratique artistique individuelle. Le fil rouge qui parcourt son œuvre concerne 'la vie de l’homme occidental'. Comment gagne-t-il sa croûte et passe-t-il son temps libre péniblement acquis ? Ses images transcendent le documentaire pur et adoptent un sens plus métaphorique. La photographie de Kets se caractérise par une grande sensibilité pour la couleur, un sens aiguisé du détail et une touche surréaliste. Après ses études au département de graphisme, création et illustration de Sint-Lucas à Anvers, achevées en 2001, Jimmy Kets entre aussitôt en tant que photographe de presse au quotidien De Morgen et plus tard au quotidien De Standaard. Des expositions individuelles de son œuvre ont été organisées au FoMu (Anvers), Flanders Center Osaka (Japon), au Brakke Grond (Amsterdam) et au festival de photographie de Breda.

back to top
 
     

Jasper Rigole (°1981)

   

Jasper Rigole a étudié au département cinéma du KASK (Gand) et a ensuite suivi un troisième cycle au HISK (Gand). Il est le fondateur de 'l’Institut international de la Conservation, l’Archivage et la Diffusion de la Mémoire d’Autrui'(IICAVAH), l’organe qui chapeaute l’ensemble de sa pratique artistique. Les souvenirs conservés dans cet institut fictif – principalement des documents trouvés dans la sphère privée – constituent chaque fois la base de ses projets audiovisuels, qui se composent à la fois d’installations, de projections et de performances. Il s’agit d’explorations expérimentales qui commentent de manière aussi critique que poétique les notions contemporaines d’archives et de mémoire, de fiction et de document(aire). Son œuvre a été exposée au Brakke Grond (Amsterdam), SMAK (Gand) et à la huitième édition de la Biennale européenne Manifesta (Murcia).

back to top
 
     

Matthieu Ronsse (°1981)

   

Dans ses toiles et ses expositions, Matthieu Ronsse se laisse purement guider par son intuition plastique. Le temps et l’impatience s’entrechoquent dans les multiples images qu’il superpose, juxtapose, oppose ou occulte. Les sujets empruntés à l’histoire de l’art se fondent avec des motifs d’œuvres précédentes, avec des bribes d’images de la sphère privée, de l’architecture ou de livres de photographie… Dans le jeu qui s’installe entre les œuvres, on observe des sauts constants entre les sujets, les compositions, les touches de peinture, les choix de couleurs, les qualités recherchées. Chaque projet d’exposition de Matthieu Ronsse constitue un nouveau chapitre étonnant dans une œuvre dont la complexité ne cesse de s’amplifier. Dont acte à Freestate.

back to top
 
     

Sarah & Charles (°1979 en °1981)

   

Le duo d’artistes Sarah & Charles crée des univers à la fois reconnaissables et étranges, peuplés de protagonistes invisibles. Leurs installations faites de décors évoquent des images oniriques, où fiction et réalité se rencontrent. Le spectateur fait partie intégrante de ces décors qui le mettent pour ainsi dire en scène. Les intérieurs témoignent d’un goût prononcé pour le stylisme et détail, ce qui révèle certaines choses sur les personnages. Ce n’est pas pour rien que la série s’intitule 'Props For Drama'. En 2007, Sarah & Charles étaient les lauréats du HISK. Avant cela, Sarah a achevé des études à Sint-Lukas à Bruxelles. Leur œuvre a été exposée au Brakke Grond (Amsterdam), au Klingental (Bâle), à De Garage (Malines) au Lokaal 01(Breda), à Watou et au Marta Museum (Herford). Récemment, Sarah & Charles ont créé le décor de l’opéra Blond Eckbert, à l’Opéra d’Anvers.

back to top
 
     

Ief Spincemaille (°1976)

   

Ief Spincemaille a étudié la philosophie à l’université KULeuven, et la musique et la technologie à l’Aula de Musica à Barcelone. En tant que créateur de décor et de paysages sonores, il a participé à de multiples productions théâtrales, entre autres, pour la Toneelhuis (Anvers) et le Toneelgroep Amsterdam. Depuis 2010, il coordonne avec Kurt d'Haeseleer la maison de production pour arts médias Werktank. Les domaines frontaliers entre les médias 'anciens' et 'nouveaux', mais aussi entre la scène et la coulisse, constituent le biotope naturel de son œuvre qu’il définit lui-même volontiers comme une forme de sculpture à l’ère du multimédia. Tous les médias et instruments possibles sont mis en œuvre en fonction de situations orchestrées et de narrations construites, qui défient et questionnent la perception du spectateur. Récemment, son œuvre a été montrée au Festival international du Film de Rotterdam, à la Fondation Verbeke (Kemzeke) et à Almost Cinema (Gand).

back to top
 
     

Ante Timmermans (°1976)

   

Porté par une énergie incroyable, Ante Timmermans réalise des dessins qui restituent la condition humaine (et sa propre condition d’artiste), avec tout ce que celle-ci comporte de tragique et de comique. Il réalise des dessins sur papier, des muraux, des films d’animation, des projections lumineuses ou tridimensionnelles. Son infini jeu de lignes représente l’activité humaine sous toutes ses formes et transcende ainsi la réalité perceptible. Son œuvre constitue de la sorte la genèse de l’un des plus grands et plus inextricables réseaux de lignes et de significations. Pour Freestate, Ante Timmermans développe un ensemble de nouveaux dessins spatiaux.

back to top
 
     

Dennis Tyfus (°1979)

   

Dennis Tyfus est un véritable touche-à-tout qui s’adonne à mille et une activités, toutes aussi vitales pour lui : musique, dessins, magazines, affiches, couvertures de disque, émissions radio, concerts, performances… Ainsi, il exprime sa fascination pour la poésie visuelle, la noise, les situationnistes et leur radicalisme, la scène punk des années 70 et 80, etc. dans une émission sur Radio Centraal. Aux côtés de Vaast Colson, il organise des spectacles et des performances à 'Gunther', un lieu situé à un jet de pierre de l’hôtel de police d’Anvers, et édite par ailleurs publications et disques sous le label Ultra Eczema, qu’il a fondé avec des amis artistes et musiciens. Toutes ces activités donnent lieu à des dessins, des collages et des vidéos bien ficelés, aux couleurs et aux textures flamboyantes.

back to top
 
     

Philippe Van Wolputte (°1982)

   

Pour Freestate, Philippe Van Wolputte réalise un nouveau T.P.E.S., le sixième de la série depuis 2005. Ces 'Temporary Penetrable Exhibition Spaces' se composent d’interventions in situ dans des espaces vides et inutilisés, comme on en trouve souvent dans les environnements urbains. Ainsi, il réaménage en cube blanc une ancienne structure abandonnée dans la partie ancienne du port, où il installe un intérieur trouvé, c’est-à-dire une œuvre d’art. Un site 'inutile' auparavant adopte de la sorte une fonction temporaire d’espace d’exposition fictif. Parallèlement, sa fascination pour l'asbest l’incite à créer une intervention dans l’entrepôt. Philippe Van Wolputte a exposé à la Chert Gallery (Berlin), au Zentrum Paul Klee (Bern), au Muhka (Anvers), à Liste (Bâle), à Objectif Exhibitions (Anvers). En 2009, il a achevé sa résidence à la Rijksakademie à Amsterdam.

back to top
 
     

Vadim Vosters (°1979)

   

Vadim Vosters est peintre, photographe et artiste média. Un facteur récurrent dans ses œuvres et ses installations est le contraste entre la lumière et l’obscurité, entre voir et ne pas voir. Des références à l’histoire (de l’art) suscitent toujours une réflexion plus approfondie sur l’essence d’une image. L’intégration de nouvelles technologies génère souvent une forme d’interaction entre le spectateur et l’image et innove le média pictural. Vosters a étudié les médias variés à l’académie de Gand. Il a exposé, entre autres, au Musée Ensor (Ostende), et a participé à l’exposition Fantastic Illusions (Courtrai - Shanghai) et à Performa 2009 (New York).

back to top
 
     

Leon Vranken (°1975)

   

Leon Vranken a obtenu une maîtrise en Arts visuels autonomes à Breda (2005) et a suivi un troisième cycle au HISK (Anvers/Gand). Il a exposé, entre autres, à la Galerie Stella Lohaus (Anvers). Vranken réalise principalement des œuvres dans l’espace. Il se sert d’objets, qui paraissent avoir été sortis de leur environnement, ou de formes et de volumes, parfois géométriques. Il les montre séparément ou les réunis dans des installations. Mais il ne s’agit pas simplement d’objets trouvés, Leon Vranken produit lui-même ses objets et ses formes. L’attention qu’il porte aux matériaux est frappante : la finition parfaite et le caractère tactile de son œuvre sont très importants. L’œuvre génère à chaque fois un effet aliénant tout en témoignant d’un grand savoir-faire. Cela s’observe clairement dans une œuvre récente qui se compose de douze socles, alignés selon un travail de menuiserie toujours plus complexe. Ils exigent une nouvelle interprétation du socle, oscillant entre l’objet fonctionnel et architectonique…

back to top
 
     

Freek Wambacq (°1978)

   

Dans son œuvre, Freek Wambacq établit un lien critique entre le monde l’art et le monde extérieur. Rencontres brèves et découvertes idiosyncrasiques sont la source d’inspiration de ses œuvres. Son riche vocabulaire sculptural fait appel à des objets trouvés et autres matériels de la vie quotidienne, auxquels il insuffle une nouvelle vie à travers des combinaisons surprenantes. L’artiste collectionne et arrange des objets de manière associative jusqu’à ce qu’ils forment une construction esthétique qui interpelle. Ces constructions font invariablement référence aux fonctions originales des objets, alors qu’elles racontent des histoires complexes, formulent des observations sociologiques ou établissent des associations avec l’histoire de l’art. Ainsi, Wambacq explore les limites de l’art de façon subtile et non sans humour sous-jacent. Cette subtilité se manifeste à la fois dans la minutie avec laquelle l’artiste dispose ses sculptures et installations, ainsi que dans le choix des titres qu’il donne à ses œuvres. Cette année, Freek Wambacq a présenté une exposition individuelle au Museum M (Louvain), participé à l’exposition de groupe Crossroads (Düsseldorf), et a été sélectionné pour le Prix de la Jeune Peinture Belge.

back to top
 
     

Sung-A Yoon (°1977)

   

Sung-A Yoon a étudié l’art à l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy et le cinéma à l’INSAS, à Bruxelles. Oscillant entre le cinéma et l’art contemporain, ses films et ses vidéos ont été projetés dans de nombreux festivals internationaux, incluant le Festival de Cannes, ainsi que dans des centres d’art – Jeu de Paume, Palais de Tokyo, Le Plateau… – et des manifestations artistiques comme la Biennale de Busan (Corée du Sud). À Freestate, elle présente une nouvelle installation vidéo qui fait partie d’un projet en cours, 'Les lieux du son', qui explore la relation entre la musique et l’espace public et se concentre cette fois sur la notion du travail. Elle montre aussi le diptyque vidéo Adieu je pars et dans mon coeur j'emporterai et Elle peut pas oublier le sentiment toute la vie qui aborde la question du déplacement, de la mémoire collective et de la force émotionnelle du son et du langage, filmé au sein de la communauté chinoise de Liège.

back to top